Print Page icon Text Resize icon

NT Container Deposit Scheme - Next Steps for Depots and Consumers

Updated: 7 March 2013

A number of proactive steps have been taken following the Federal Court of Australia's decision on 4 March 2013 that the Container Deposit Scheme (CDS) established under the Northern Territory’s Environment Protection (Beverage Containers and Plastic Bags) Act 2011 (EPBC Act) is not consistent with the requirements of the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 (Cth) (MR Act).

All NT collection depots have been contacted and advised of the decision by the Federal Court.  

The Department of Business is contacting businesses – the coordinators and depots in the scheme – that are adversely affected by the court’s decision to see what assistance the department can offer.

The NT Government is seeking confirmation from the Australian Food and Grocery Council (AFGC) and Australian Beverage Council (ABC) to grant a two month transition period to allow drink companies that wish to abandon the scheme to suspend activities with the least disturbance to the community and businesses.  

The NT Government is committed to seeking permanent exemption to the Mutual Recognition Act through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) which, if successful will enable the CDS to operate in the Northern Territory.

Northern Territory schools which received a grant to purchase a trailer for container deposit fundraising will be able to use the trailers for other school activities.

The NT EPA website will be updated regularly as more information becomes available, including details of where consumers should take their containers for redemption.

Currently, the following depots have confirmed they are open to the public for 10c redemption:

Envirobank Recycling
41 McKinnon Road, Pinelands
p: 08 8931 0397
8.00am - 4.00pm Mon - Fri
8.00am - 2.00pm Sat
Closed Public Holidays
Envirobank Recycling
Shed 4, 44 Crawford Street, Katherine
p: 08 8931 0397
10.00am - 4.00pm Mon & Thurs
7.00am - 12 noon Sat
Closed Public Holidays
Envirobank Recycling RVM 
Charles Darwin University
Ellengowan Drive, Casuarina
p: 08 8931 0397
9.00am - 6.00pm Mon - Sun
Closed Public Holidays
Note: This RVM only accepts aluminum and plastic containers.
No Cardboard or Glass.
For more information visit

Envirobank Recycling RVM
15 Parap Road, Parap
 p: 08 8931 0397
10.00am - 4.00pm Mon - Fri
10.00am - 1pm Sat - Sun
Closed Public Holidays
Note: This RVM does not accept cardboard.
For more information visit

Revive Recycling Pty Ltd
Reverse Vending Machine
159 Dick Ward Drive, Nightcliff
Shopping Centre, Nightcliff
p: 03 9558 0344
7.30am - 9.30pm Mon - Sun
Envirobank Recycling RVM
Alpa Store, Lot 83, Gadapu Road, Milingimbi
P: 08 8931 0397
10.00am – 4.00pm Mon - Sun

Barkly Metal Traders
Factory 2, 26 Irvine Street, Tennant Creek
P: 08 8962 3637 or 0427 185 438
8 am - 4pm Thurs - Fri
8am - 12 noon Sat

Bagnall Agencies and Elliott Mechanical
4-6 Lewis Street, Elliott
p: 08 8969 2085
8.00am - 12 noon Mon - Sat 

Veolia Environmental Services
13 Beaton Road, Berrimah
p: 08 8947 8947
8.00am - 4.30pm Mon - Fri
8.00am - 12 noon Sat
Territory Recycling Depot and Veolia Environmental Services
106 Smith Street, Alice Springs
p: 08 8952 8333
8.00am - 4.30pm Mon - Fri
8.00am - 12.30pm Sat 


Media contact – Lesley Major – 08 8924 7287 or 0419 288 284



preloading background image